Matters of Time

This is my favorite time of year: mother nature celebrates the season with a glorious display of color, cooler weather inspires menus focused on hot bowls of soup and warm, comfort food, and the upcoming holiday season brings with it the hyggelig, gezellig, cozy feeling of home.

I returned from our National Specialty in Texas a week ago. It was the first show for our new puppy, “Lily”, Quilcreek Talbot Hill Gilded Lily, and just my third show this year. It was great to see friends again and to see beagles from around the country and around the world. It’s at Nationals that I look for inspiration for future breeding plans and I’ll have more to share about that soon. Lily won a strong 6 – 9 month puppy sweepstakes class and was 2nd in the regular 6 – 9 month puppy class. She also became an expert in airline travel, hotel elevators, and begging for bed privileges. She’s a lovely little bitch, just barely over 13″, and I was so pleased with how she handled the excitement of her week in Texas.

We have just one more show this year, at a fairgrounds where I have been showing and judging animals for 50 years. After that, time will tell what the future holds. I’ve received numerous inquiries about puppies and will be spending time on this stormy November weekend updating the Puppies page of my website with news about upcoming litters. For now, I am not taking applications for 2024 puppies but I welcome existing Talbot Hill families to contact me if 2024 is the time to welcome a new beagle into your home.


Leave a comment